valentines

Oh how we love holidays!! A time for parties at school, maybe gift giving, lots of sweets!

Do we forget at times what the true meaning of the holiday is? I know I do. I get so caught up in what I need to buy for kids, what to get my husband (and I never know what to get him!), make sure I get what they need for their school parties, etc. Why do we celebrate Valentine’s day? Well, here is a little history lesson……

During the 3rd century in Rome, Emporer Claudius II decided single men made better soldiers because they weren’t worried about leaving their wives and families, so he made a decree to outlaw marriage for young men. A priest by the name of Valentine felt this was injust and performed the marriages in secret. When Claudius found out, he had Valentine put to death. The holiday commemorates the martyrdom of this Saint (per History.com). We celebrate by sending notes of love, candy, and doing other kind acts for each other.

So, why don’t we do this all year long instead of saving it for one holiday? Just imagine the example we would set for our children and the strong marriage bonds we could have if we practiced this year round!

American Academy published some great ideas to show love to your children, although I think we should commit to do these things year round! Who’s with me???

http://www.healthychildren.org/English/news/Pages/14-Ways-to-Show-Love-for-Your-Child-This-Valentines-Day.aspx

